View Full Version : benifits and drawbacks of ebooks

Ebookare
07-19-2005, 04:31 PM
Hello Everyone! I've been looking over the post in this section of the ebooks forum for quite some time now. I noticed that their is quite a bit of disagreement on what the true benefits of ebooks are. There is also a lot disagreement about what the drawbacks of ebooks are. I am an ebook author myself and have been for quite some time. I have spoke in great detail with other ebook authors about these subjects but not as much with ebook users. I'd be very interested to know what everyone thought the greatest drawbacks and benefits of ebooks are.

I'll start out..

Benefits:
1) Users can download the information they want immediately. This is useful for those who don't have easy access to a bookstore.

2) Gives you access to information and perspectives that you can't find in bookstores because they have not been published into a hard copy.

3) Ebooks are more interactive than regular books. Ebook can provide you with the ability to interact with the information through the use of links you can take online tests, keep journals, be redirected to further information. As well, coming up with new editions can be quick and virtually costless.

Drawbacks:

1) People really like to be able to read away from their computer. Printing the ebook is not always and option and may not even be desirable.

2) Quality of the ebook. Over the years I have downloaded many ebooks, many of which were garbage. I would pay a lot of money for a non fiction ebook that turned out to be only 34 pages long with very uninteresting information and a poor presentation. At least with regular books you can see the quality before you buy.

3) Piracy. Although I have not been effected by this too much as of yet, it could definitely become a problem in the future.

I'd be interested to know what everyone else thinks the drawbacks and benefits are ebooks are!

Kind Regards

John
Ebook Architect