View Full Version : x50v, mem and backup batt question

h0mersimps0n
05-13-2005, 09:27 PM
Hey guys,

I just got my x50v a few days ago and can't stop messing around with it. I have a few questions I'm still confused about even after googling around a little bit maybe someone can dumb it down for me.

What is the deal with the memory system in the x50v?
I've been building my own computer for 7 years now so I know RAM/ROM, etc (don't dumb it down that much).

I see total Main at about 61MB and "storage card" at 91MB
I see in the specs that installed RAM is 64MB and installed ROM is 128MB.

What I can't understand at this MFing point is why in the world Dell (or whoever) would choose to put programs and installed software on the RAM (which is volatile/suseptible to battery deadening), when there's all that good ROM lying around (non-volatile right?)?

I noticed there is a thread lower down about moving all of your programs and such off your RAM and getting it into your ROM and/or memory card (CF in my case).

Can anyone comment on this RAM/ROM thing?

What is the deal with the backup battery? Does it recharge if you do work into it? How come it wasn't dead when I first took it out of the box? There was no batteries in the x50v when it arrived, and it definitely took longer than 30minutes to ship?

Thanks!

Don Tolson
05-13-2005, 10:02 PM
I'm certainly not the techie whiz guru in this area, but I suspect that when the upgrade to Mobile 2005 is released, you'll see a lot more of your programs and static data residing in ROM, while RAM will be used primarily for 'active' applications.

I believe Microsoft referred to this as 'persistent memory management', which is part of the Mobile 5.0 operating system.

Sven Johannsen
05-13-2005, 10:51 PM