View Full Version : How long will accessories still be available...?

caubeck
04-22-2005, 06:38 PM
Hi,

I use an iPAQ 1935, which covers my current needs in every respect. Of course my next PDA will be far more powerful, but I have a question: how long do you think accessories for this device will remain available, now that it's no longer on sale? I would not like to be forced to upgrade just because I can't buy a replacement charging cable or screen protector that fits.

For the record, I've been using this iPAQ every day for almost two years with no trouble at all and no software problems to speak of.

Chris

emuelle1
04-22-2005, 06:50 PM
My mother in law has a 1940. It kills me that all she uses that fine unit for is to play games.

You'd be surprised at how long you can find items on Ebay. You may have to spend time searching, but if your unit holds up I'm sure that even a few years from now, someone somewhere will be listing accessories on Ebay.

caubeck
04-22-2005, 07:11 PM
Thanks for the encouragement!

Actually I've been thinking about this as the head on the charge/sync cable has a bent, er, "prong" which doesn't affect charging but is annoying to insert into the device (at a slight angle). I'll buy another cable next month, when my finances allow, but I'd hate to be hunting down rare parts in a year's time.

When I look at the new iPAQs on display I just can't see myself with one that isn't so small and light and elegant (in my opinion). I guess I'll be hunting 1945s on eBay too when the time comes...

emuelle1
04-22-2005, 07:18 PM
It sure is a fine unit. Nice and small, but powerful. I can't tell you how many times I've fought the urge to ask her to trade it for my 3765 if all she wants to do is play games. I'd load up a couple hundred megs of games in that case.

Of course, I'll have a Dell x30 by the end of next week.