View Full Version : iPaq compatible bluetooth cell phone

serpico
04-18-2005, 08:59 PM
Hi guys, I'm looking for a cell phone that I can use with my HP4155 to connect and check email. I'm going on a trip soon and not sure about wifi access and would use the cell as a backup modem. Bluetooth seems the easiest way without cables. What brands should I look at that anyone has some experience in compatibility? I'm worried that I buy something online and it doesn't work. I'm new to this whole wireless access thing? Thanks.

emmfan
04-18-2005, 10:24 PM
It depends on your wireless service provider and which bluetooth phones they provide. With Verizon (what I'm using), you only have one choice and that is the Motorola V710. Once you have the bluetooth phone, you need to find out what the dial and login settings are depending on your provider.

serpico
04-18-2005, 10:35 PM
Thanks for the reply. Good suggestion, it's a better and safer option. I emailed my provider and they recommended the Sony Ericsson Z600 and P910i and also told me they would provide the data settings required to connect. Of course, the P910i is already a fully functional smartphone running some other OS, but then I wouldn't require a PDA. I'm not ready to give up my HP4155 just yet. It's a powerful tool to carry along, so I'm going to research wifi access points in the city I'm going to visit. I believe wifi is quicker than the GPRS network using a cell phone as a modem.

jpf
04-19-2005, 01:48 AM
I have a SE T610 with cingular and have 'mediaworks' package that costs $20 a month.
It wasn't straightforward connecting as cingular didn't tell me how but after a little bit of looking around the net to find the connection strings I got the ipaq to connect through the phone.
I also purchased connect2Internetpro which does a good job of taking the pain out of creating the connection. It's overpriced in my opinion but does provide some useful tools if you're going to do a lot of comms through BT.