View Full Version : Is Bluetooth really this vulnerable?

wot_fan
04-05-2005, 02:15 PM
I am new to the world of Bluetooth so please excuse my ignorance regarding this issue. I recently ordered my first Bluetooth device (gps) and after reading this article I have some concerns about security of my personal data. I would appreciate any comments regarding the accuracy, or lack there of, of this article.

Yahoo News Article (http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=1739&e=5&u=/ttzd/148746)

delfuhd
04-05-2005, 03:11 PM
Well, you have security on all bluetooth devices. Are you talking about a Bluetooth GPS recciever? If so, I'm not sure that personal data is stored onthat, but rather the pocket pc itself. I might be mistaken on that. But also, bluetooth is still quite scarce. I'm at college right now, and sometimes in large lecture halls or largely crowded areas, I'll turn on my bluetooth and search around to see if anyone else is using a bluetooth device, and only in one instance did I find a bluetooth phone, and it was locked (not that I was going to do anything bad to it anway :D ) but as long as you keep good security, you should be fine. And since I would assume you'll mostly be using the GPS in your car, I wouldn't think it would be very easy for someone outside your car to connect to your device, seeing as you'll be moving. Well, I hope that helped, good luck!

surur
04-05-2005, 03:26 PM
That article is pretty accurate. Its not however bluetooth itself which has weaknesses, but the various implementations e.g. the way Nokia wrote the software to implement the protocol, or the way Sony-Ericcson did it. As awareness of the problem grew the newer phones are much more robust and secure.