View Full Version : can't read my books on a new device??

zilla31
03-10-2005, 08:59 PM
got a couple of books from ebooks.com then got a new device. reinstalled mobipocket, got a new PID and entered it under my account on ebooks.com. downloaded my books again but a message pops up saying they are unavailable for "all" my PIDs and mobipocket won't open them on my new device... how can i get this going?

THANKS!

Jorgen
03-11-2005, 08:24 AM
Yep, this is why I never buy Mobipocket. It is device specific. If you don't lose your books this time, then you will later.

There is a PID manager which you use to change device: http://www.ebookmall.com/knowledge-collection/mobi.htm

Jorgen

hpf
03-11-2005, 10:21 AM
Are you trying to read your eBooks on another PDA (keeping your old one(s)) ? If you just update your PID in your account, you should be able to read them.
Did you ask ebooks.com ?

I had no problem on Mobipocket and Fictionwise website, I have been using them for 4 years now, and I can still read my eBooks. I have changed maybe 10 times my PIDs, because I often change my device.

Jorgen
03-11-2005, 11:36 AM
I should be more precise as it is not only a MobiPocket problem: with any of the existing DRM methods (MS Reader, Mobi and eReader), you are likely to eventually lose your books for one reason or another, but typically when you change to a PDA not supported by the company.

I find Mobi's approach particularly terrible. I prefer to burn my books to a CD and store it in my safe, rather than be dependent on being able to download it from Mobi's website 20-30-40 year from now.

zilla31
03-11-2005, 01:36 PM
yeah it's weird - i thought i followed the process @ ebooks.com. i installed mobipocket on my new axim, and subsequently got a new PID. i took that PID and entered it into the PID manager section at ebooks.com, then re-downloaded my book and it threw an error saying all available PIDs (there are 2 now even though i only have one since i sold my old device).