View Full Version : Has anyone synchronized with ActiveSync over bluetooth?

humayunl
02-24-2005, 12:58 PM
I recently replaced my MS BT stack with the Widcomm.
It worked, i was detecting other devices, sending business cards and doing basic BT stuff...

Then I got me a bluetooth USB adapter for my laptop and and decided to do other cool stuff like activesync over BT and creating a LAN or PAN connection etc.

First of all, with the lameass MS atck on XP that comes free with SP2, there arent any services for a serial port connection over BT (required for activesync) or FTP or LAN etc. So I have to install the software that came with the BT adapter (software called BlueSoleil and pretty good, not that I would know).

So with the new software now i have all theses services running. I have been able to make an ftp connection and transfer files. but I can't get activesync to work.

:( Has anyone dones this? What am I missing?

Islanti
02-24-2005, 06:20 PM
I'm not an expert in troubleshooting Activesync-over-Bluetooth, but I do use it daily. You may want to try re-installing Activesync over your existing installation. The setup software seems to do some automatic configuration if it detects Bluetooth.

Beyond that, I can only tell you the basics... on my hx4700 running WIDCOMM / Broadcom's drivers you need to "Discover" the Activesync Bluetooth profile on your computer (there isn't really an Activesync profile, but this auto-launches Activesync when the serial port connects). Other than that, just make sure you have an incoming COM port mapped and turned on in your desktop Bluetooth settings and that Activesync is listening on that COM port.

Hope that helps!

OskiO
02-24-2005, 06:23 PM
Make sure you have the com ports for the bluetooth serial matched up. I had a similar problem with my BT and Activesync. My laptop gives my AS a com of 25 (don't know why it is so high) and all I can see in AS is com 1 and 4.

C

ChristopherTD
02-25-2005, 08:45 AM