View Full Version : Help With ActiveSync

tonyberry
02-15-2005, 08:05 PM
Hey everybody, Lets see who is on their toes....

I have a PPC 4155 w Wi-Fi&BT. I have Active Sync 3.8 installed at home and at work. I have been using and working with PPC's for about 3 years now. But i never came into this situation till now.

My Question is:

I want to sync my home, e-mail, calendar, files etc. AND my work e-mail, calendar, files etc to the same device. Does anybody know how to seperate the 2 or orginize the different data so i can check my schedule at work and e-mail when im at home.

Now here is the kicker, i have Cox high speed at home and yor basic e-mail through POP3 & SMTP, however, at my job, as the IT Admin we are using Exchanger Server 2003.

How can i sync to the exchange server and home stuff...

Does anybody know what i am trying to do..

Please help...

Thanks In Advance

Tony

PDANEWBIE
02-15-2005, 08:22 PM
You can do it but it takes alot of work - In outlook you need to use catergories for tasks and for calendar items. At home setup a catergory I.E. Home. At Work setup another catergory I.E. Work. With each item you create asign it that created catergory. At home you need to set activesync to synchronize Home caterogry only at work you need to set activesync to syncronize a Work catergory.

Email is a totally different ballgame. the only way I have found to do this is to syncronize seperate folders within inbox. Again have 1 for work and one for Home and then select which ones you want to have it sync.

The biggest pain in this process that I have experienced is having to set each item created in outlook to a different catergory. Since I never use catergories (on a daily basis) I have found its a pain to have to select a catergory each time I create something something.

I have tried asking around as a way to make 1 client make a default caterogry of Work and my home make a default of Home with everything made but I can't seem to find any way to force that.