View Full Version : Rosetta Stone frontend for pocket pc

foebea
02-13-2005, 05:18 AM
I am just starting out in Visual Basic, and have drafted up my plans for a freeware frontend program for use with a non freeware program called The Rosetta Stone. I use TRS to study French and Japanese, but as with many PPC users, I am rarely at my home computer or laptop.

On the TRS lanuage CD are a bunch of folders, all clearly labeled and such, with plaintext description and question files. I figure since it is not encrypted or hidden in any way, there is nothing wrong with me using that information since I paid for it. I have sent email to Rosetta Stone, but no response yet.

Anyway, I am designing a frontend, and was wondering if I am the only one in the world who would benefit from this program, or if there are other Rosetta users out there.

This program would not of course come with any language stuff, but you would just copy the folders from the Rosetta CD to a flash card, then tell the PPC program which directory to load from.

Here is a screenshot of what I have right now. Half of the buttons work, but I am still working on the image loading and cycling. Don't even get me started about the status of Kanji. That's tough.

http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/media/users/11899/draftscreen.gif

So, thoughts, suggestions, comments?

dignow96
02-13-2005, 06:29 AM
I'm living in Kuwait now and trying my damnedest to learn Arabic and Farsi thru TRS. I would LOVE a PPC app to help me along. My wife and I are both studying the languages and both PPC users so this would be useful for the both of us. Please keep me posted on how this is going and if there is anything we can do to help. We don't program but are more than happy to test, review, throw money your way, whatever could make this happen. I'm fairly certain my email is on my profile here but just in case - [email protected].

foebea
02-13-2005, 06:45 AM
Excellent! I'm not alone :D