View Full Version : which VGA pocket PC

pedroboe
12-26-2004, 07:26 PM
Hi all,

I am a veteran PPC user, from the early days of Jornada, iPaqs with the "dust-in-the-screen" issues, I even have a Sharp Zaurus SL 5500; But in the last 2 years I have been perfectly happy with my Dell Axim 5 Advanced, which I only had to swap once.
My GF wants to give me a new VGA PPC for xmas real bad (I got her an iPod) and she wants me to give her my Axim......and Iv'e gotten to the point where I'm not even sure i want to get rid of my trusty Axim with it's great battery life....
I have not been following too closely the developement of PPC's but
I was looking at the Dell X50v and the iPaq 4700. Any recommendations or warnings on either one? which one would you choose? I am sure my adrenaline will flow again when I see the new one, but is it worth it?

surur
12-26-2004, 07:36 PM
I understand one of them only comes with 64Mb ram... :twisted:

Surur

Menneisyys
12-26-2004, 08:24 PM
Unfortunately, there is no all-in-one VGA device - no single device contains all the available hi-end technologies. So, you really have to consider each machine's strengths and weaknesses.

The strengths of the two, above-mentioned machines are, for example:

iPAQ:
- srceen size
- screen quality

Dell:
- price (at least outside the EU)
- 2700g

Both sport a 624 MHz processor (the fastest available), which is clearly an advantage over other VGA machines.

There're severe drawbacks of both units, however. The biggest is the lack of 128M RAM and the lack of USB host.

I think you should thoroughly read the Brighthand, the Firstloox, the Aximsite etc. forums because you will need to sacrifice a lot of functionality available in other VGA models, depending on which VGA PDA you choose.

Also, check out http://pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=35630 to have a picture of the screen quality of current VGA machines. (Hint: the iPAQ and the Fujitsu-Siemens is by far the best.)