View Full Version : Palm to Pocket PC

ethanding
12-14-2004, 01:06 PM
I am currently considering buying a Pocket PC after having been very frustrated with my Palm for many years. So I am new to this and excuse me for the silly questions. One of the reasons that I am considering getting a PPC over a new Palm is I still use my laptop and I think because PPCs use Windows OS and applications, they can probably sync better with my laptop. Am I correct?
My second question is which models will you recommend? I travel quite a bit for work and I use handheld devices primarily for e-mail, internet and calendars etc.

applejosh
12-14-2004, 02:13 PM
I am currently considering buying a Pocket PC after having been very frustrated with my Palm for many years. So I am new to this and excuse me for the silly questions. One of the reasons that I am considering getting a PPC over a new Palm is I still use my laptop and I think because PPCs use Windows OS and applications, they can probably sync better with my laptop. Am I correct?
Actually, I find the syncing in the PPC to be its weakest point. ActiveSync doesn't work as well as I would like. And the PPC may use an OS called Windows something something, but it isn't the same thing and has nothing to do with the desktop OS. An application for Windows XP won't run on your Pocket PC. I actually prefer HotSync on the Palm platform for most things. (Although I do have a love/hate relationship with the always sync'd feature of ActiveSync.)

My second question is which models will you recommend? I travel quite a bit for work and I use handheld devices primarily for e-mail, internet and calendars etc.
Look at the Dell's. They probably offer the best price/feature ratio. But read all the forums here to get an idea of what the strengths/weaknesses of every device.

emuelle1
12-14-2004, 02:27 PM