View Full Version : New µBook 0.9a No Longer Freeware

jvandervort
11-18-2004, 10:35 PM
Looks like an end of an era.
Still the best reader to use without converting to proprietary
formats.

ironguy
11-19-2004, 01:10 AM
I guess we deserve it. He stated on the website that donations had fallen off. I know that I didn't donate even though I knew that I should. Now I will pay for the use of the best reader around without qualms.

ADBrown
11-19-2004, 10:07 PM
I wish he'd made a bigger deal out of it beforehand. I'm sure we could have whipped up some donations in order to keep it freeware.

Ommadawn
11-22-2004, 07:07 AM
Yeah, I'm one of the guilty party as well. I've seen the request for donations every time I've visited David's site, and thought "I should do that" but never have. Having said that, I paid up promptly when I received the notification email for the new version 8)

Money well spent.

Craig.

Oregon Trail
11-22-2004, 08:55 AM
I am relatively new to reading ebooks. What is the advantage to using µBook 0.9a? Actually, why use any of the other formats than MS reader?

ADBrown
11-22-2004, 11:42 AM
Having said that, I paid up promptly when I received the notification email for the new version 8)

Yeah, but it would have been better to keep it donation-based freeware on behalf of the new users.

As for the benefits of uBook, for one thing it will read practically any format without conversion. Plain text, rich text, HTML, PalmDoc, anything. There's a vast online archive of thousands of books that can be gotten for free, many of them not formatted for MS Reader. uBook also gives you total control over controls, colors, interface, text size, font smoothing, everything.

Ommadawn
11-23-2004, 01:03 AM
I am relatively new to reading ebooks. What is the advantage to using µBook 0.9a? Actually, why use any of the other formats than MS reader?

Hi,