View Full Version : Dell order status

havrek
10-22-2004, 12:54 AM
I'm new to dell so forgive me ignorance. Every other PPC I've ever bought was off the shelf and iPAQs for the last few years. My order status has never changed. It has the date I ordered it and then some grayed out stuff with the same date and then the ship date. It has said pre-production for over a week. Has anyone else had their status updated since the day they placed the order?

Darius Wey
10-22-2004, 01:31 AM
The Dell order status tends to be updated everday, although in most cases, what you see on the screen can be a couple of days behind because it takes a while for communication to occur between Dell and the courier service.

A bit unfortunate in your case since it doesn't appear to be updated, and I've spoken to many people who have been in your shoes in the past. Either it is actually making its way to you as we speak (but the website hasn't updated these details), or there may actually be a delay in production and transportation. I've been a lucky one in my experiences as my order tended to be on par with what appeared on the order status screen.

Give it a few days, and if you're still in concern, you can always contact Dell and ask them what is happening. Their friendly support team can help you out.

Sven Johannsen
10-22-2004, 04:00 AM
I assume you are talking about an X50? I also assume you have an expected ship date sometime in late Nov. Dell's order status makes sense if you are getting a system built and actually has some meaning then. For the PPC I expect you won't see any change until it actually ships. Don't be surprised if it shows up before the web site knows about it. Actually, be pleasantly surprised.

I would recommend not obsessing over it. Check maybe once a week or so. Better yet, check these forums daily and you will know immediately if anyone's status has changed. When that happens, check yours.

Kati Compton
10-22-2004, 04:26 AM