View Full Version : stop Inbox deleting email?

jeisner
10-17-2004, 06:13 AM
I am fairly new to ppc so sorry if this has been brought up many times before (I did search but couldn't find the answer)

I have been trying out Webis Mail but it is a little overspriced and very buggy (always crashes if I forward email) and as I actually like the built in INBOX program on my XDA II maybe I can solve my problem with that instead....

I recieve my mail on my XDA II with INBOX via GPRS and it works fine but once I receive the mail again on my home PC the mail is obviously deleted from the mail server (thats fine it should be). But the next time I do a 'send and receive' on my PPC it deletes from the PPC all the mail that is no longer on the POP mail server..... How do I turn this annoying 'feature' off? this is the only reason I have been trying webis mail, as it actually keeps the mail like any normal email program does, but in every other way I prefer the built-in INBOX program!

Gareth Lock
10-17-2004, 10:06 AM
Try configuring both MS Outlook and PPC Inbox to leave messages on the server and only delete when deleted from the 'Deleted Items'; this works for me fine.

Gareth
www.imagesoflife.co.uk

jeisner
10-17-2004, 10:13 AM
So there is no setting (or hack) for INBOX on ppc to not delete messages when it has detected them as no longer being on the server?

csterns
10-19-2004, 11:49 PM
It's a setting you do in Outlook.

jeisner
10-20-2004, 08:19 AM
Yeah you configure in outlook not to delete mail from the server, but my server mailbox space is more limited than the space on my PDA, I would like the mail to stay on the PDA even when the mail is no longer on the mail server, like any normal email program does.... Anyway looks like it can't be done (very silly design by MS) I'll have to stick with Webis Mail...

Gerard
10-21-2004, 07:30 AM