View Full Version : T-Mobile MDA III --I need some clarification! HELP!

Nicknanne
09-25-2004, 05:20 AM
Hi there. Ok, here's the thing. I am getting ready to buy my first Pocket PC. I live in the US in California. I want a unit that I can get onto the internet and AOL with easily, that has good speeds. I've been considering the HP 6315. However, I'm very curious about the TMobile MDA III. It looks amazing, but I have a few basic questions.

If I bought one from overseas, can I use it with TMobile in the US? Would it be the same type of rate plans??

If I bought one, would I have to do anything complicated like changing settings or anything to make it work in the US? Would I be getting in over my head, since I am new to all of this??

Are there any reasons that I should avoid the MDA III idea and just go with the ipaq??

If you guys can help me, I'd appreciate it, because I'm making myself nuts trying to figure it all out on my own. Thanks!

ADBrown
09-25-2004, 09:08 AM
If I bought one from overseas, can I use it with TMobile in the US? Would it be the same type of rate plans??

Yes, it would be usable, and yes, it would be the same rate plans as any T-Mobile device in the U.S.

If I bought one, would I have to do anything complicated like changing settings or anything to make it work in the US? Would I be getting in over my head, since I am new to all of this??

Switching GSM devices, like the MDA III, between networks is usually easy. They all have a little tiny card, called a Subscriber Identification Module or SIM card, usually under the battery. Pop in the new one and you should be good to go.

Nicknanne
09-25-2004, 03:53 PM
Thank you for your response!

So, if I bought the MDA III, would I have to actually bring it into one of the T-Mobile stores to activate it and have them put in the SIM card?

surur
09-25-2004, 05:45 PM