View Full Version : My iPAQ Saved the Day!

piperpilot
08-19-2004, 06:41 PM
A couple of weeks ago, both my husband and I were under intense deadlines for separate projects. He had a project due for his C++ class and I had a publication deadline for a legal journal article that I have been writing for the past six months. Both of us needed to use the computer. The only problem was that we had only one PC to use. Rather than fight about whose project was more important, I decided to use PocketWord to work on my article. With my stowaway keyboard and my portable speakers hooked up to my iPAQ 5455, I was able to work on my paper and enjoy some good tunes at the same time. I was so impressed with my iPAQ solution that I took a picture (see below) of what I have come to refer to as my "command center." I even set up the command center on my lap and worked on my article at the car dealership while I waited for my car to be serviced. My only limitation was that I couldn't use PocketWord to do the many footnotes required of scholarly journal articles.

I already knew the value of my iPAQ to do so many things, but this was the first time it actually lent itself to maintaining domestic bliss :wink:

http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/assets/common/FileObject/jpg.gif PICT0025.JPG (http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/media/users/8094/PICT0025.JPG) (Size: 1,955.1 KB)

wocket
08-19-2004, 07:37 PM
That setup is very 8)

I have been using my pocket pc for all my research notes with a Tosh E800 and a pockettop keyboard even without the external keyboard it's fantastic.

And as the pocket pc is in my pocket most of the day and when I get inspired I can whip it out and do more notes anytime anywhere mostly where coffee is involved.

Even better I use Textmaker which does everything I could possibly want in a wordprocessor.

ADB Idea Library is used for organising my thoughts and taking quick notes, web links etc as and when I need to.