View Full Version : The PDA is dead, revisited

Gremmie
07-27-2004, 12:12 AM
So, watching The Screensavers and they are doing a rant on PDA's. Again, they are saying the pda is near death (e.g., Sony dropping out). One of them says the PDA hasn't peaked yet.

I have agreed that the PDA is starting to faulter, which is apparent on the sale figures. One of the reasons I believe it has started to slow is that cell phones are becoming a replacement to PDA's. Recently, MP3 players are being able to play video at a cheaper price. I think the peak of the PDA is when the PDA doesn't exist. A perfect PDA will be embodied in a cell phone or in an MP3 player. Another reincarnation of the PDA will be in extra small PC/laptop.

PDA means a limited OS, limited memory, limited screen size. The perfect PDA will evolve and turn into something else.

Thoughts?

Zab
07-27-2004, 12:52 AM
although i am fairly new to the PPC scene i dont see any falling off of the PDA. I know many many folks at work who are looking forward to the new HPs.

As far as cell phones and MP3 players replacing PDAs. i dont think they will at all. personally i dont want a combined cell phone/pda. i like the cell phone i have. it gives me great service and has crystal clear calling. i want a PDA for everything else. i dont mind having to carry around 2 different electronics. its not a hassle. especially with how small phones are these days.

after that rambling up there let me finish with this; PDAs are an evolving and growing product. they will not die out anytime soon and wont be replaced anytime soon. there is nothing perfect in this world. there is fault with everything. show me a perfect something and i will show you some wrong with it. PDAs are unique in their size, capabilities, and workings. They wont be replaced.

EDIT : See this thread :D http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=268157&sid=dc7efc4b781d47446f32ed6949e5bf7d

milkman dan
07-27-2004, 01:31 AM