View Full Version : Browsing the internet on a PPC?

donkey33
07-15-2004, 12:34 PM
I'm a real noob when it comes to PPC's. I've just been introduced to them and they intrigue me as I'd like to use one for internet browsing.

My knowledge at the moment with browsing is that they act like a small notebook. PPC's can still do everything any other PC can do just with a lot of scrolling and a smaller screen. If I want to do internet banking or check yahoo mail I can. Download whatever file onto a PPC in any format and transfer it across to a normal PC.

That's what I think but I may be way off. Can anyone help me with these browsing questions and whether I am on target with what I said or are they more limited than I think.

Thanks.

Darius Wey
07-15-2004, 12:48 PM
PPC's can still do everything any other PC can do just with a lot of scrolling and a smaller screen.

I hope you don't get the wrong impression of PPCs. Sure they are great little machines but are not as powerful as current PCs and cannot run normal PC programs. However, upcoming PPCs that are to be released will have processors up there in the mid 600MHz range and screens with higher resolutions (640x480). That aside, yes...PPCs are great for doing a vast array of things. If you want to check your mail and do your internet banking, you certainly can. Pocket Internet Explorer can handle most of your internet browsing needs, but if you seek a more powerful alternative, there is always NetFront and Thunderhawk which can be made available at your disposable. You certainly can download files on a PPC, and if you wish, you can transfer it across to PC via a number of ways (portable media storage, wireless transfer, USB transfer, etc.). Also, it is worth noting that there are thousands of PPC programs out there...so whatever you want to do on your PPC, I'm sure it can be accomplished.

Feel free to browse around the forums for more information.

Jereboam
07-15-2004, 02:34 PM