View Full Version : Complete PDA Newbie Help !

neodjandre
07-02-2004, 02:35 PM
Hello ppl,

I am kinda a complete newb as far as PDAs are concerned although I have been working with pcs and macs for 8 years now.

The only thing I know is that there exist at least two operating systems, palm os and windows mobile (for pocket pcs). Moreover, I believe that I would be going for a pocket pc because of microsoft support and greater software availability.

My motive behind purchasing a PDA is that I will become a graduate worker this September and I believe that organising with a PDA may have more benefits than just carrying a diary around.

One model I've quite liked is the HP ipaq 4150 since it has wireless capabilities which is quite important for me. It's price is a bit hefty even though I'll be getting this off ebay and I am quite certain that I will have to spend a few more £££ in accessories..
One thing I don't understand is that in the model specifications there is no mentioning of hard drive space. There must be some kind of memory expansion slots but still I haven't obtained the full picture yet..

i would appreciate any specific comments/websites that would help a newbie like me or possibly PDA recommendations other than the HP one.

I am also highly interested in mp3 capabilities of my PDA as my budget doesn't allow to purchase both an Apple Ipod and an HP Ipaq !

GoldKey
07-02-2004, 02:49 PM
PPCs don't have hard drives (yet). You use memory cards for that function. The basic OS is loaded to built in memory and there is a little built in memory for stuff.

Also, just want to make sure you are aware that you can only use software for the PPC, ie your desktop applications won't work on this.

Finally, if all you need is a basic organizer, a PPC is overkill. If you just want an address book and calander, get something cheap like a Zire.

neodjandre
07-02-2004, 03:39 PM
yes, I am aware that I can't use pc software with pocketpc.