View Full Version : How do u get the internet on pocket PC's???

simon1mufc13
06-30-2004, 08:01 PM
Hi,

I have just bought a new pocket PC but cant get it connected to the internet. On my normal PC i have a tiscali broadband account and was wondering if anyone could tell me how to get this onto my pocket pc?

The only way i can get on the net through my pocket PC is through the docking station, however i want to be able to move around and go on the net.

Please can someone give me some simple step by step instructions on how to do this as i am a beginner who knows nothing :cry:

JakeP
06-30-2004, 08:41 PM
What brand and model PDA did you buy?
Does it have wifi support?

simon1mufc13
06-30-2004, 08:46 PM
Hi,

Its a mio 338

Kowalski
06-30-2004, 10:04 PM
i use a BT enabled phone and gprs connection and get online wherever i want! excellent :D

Robb Bates
06-30-2004, 10:27 PM
Generally, the same way you would get onto the internet with a laptop computer. You have to have some form of connection.

1) Bluetooth connection to a cell phone with some form of internet connection. Most all GSM phones use GPRS.
2) WiFi to a broadband router or LAN at your work.
3) Built in phone for Phone Edition PPC
4) Compact Flash Modem card
5) Infrared to a cell phone
6) Ethernet Network Compact Flash Card

For Internet anywhere, I suggest a cell phone. If your Mio has bluetooth, then find a bluetooth enabled cell phone with high speed data.

If you just want internet at work or at home, try the WiFi route. Assuming that you have WiFi at home/work and have some form of WiFi on your PPC.

OK, I just looked at the specs for the Mio 338. Your options are limited. You should look into a bluetooth or Wifi SD Card and one of the above matching options.

I'm using my iPaq h2210 and a Sony Ericcson T610 w/GPRS via bluetooth.

Robb

simon1mufc13
06-30-2004, 11:17 PM
Thanks for the info,