View Full Version : Need Help Accessing WiFi Networks With My iPAQ 2215

jcmoffitt
06-27-2004, 02:15 AM
I am relatively new to the wireless networking using my Pocket PC (HP 2215). I have a Wireless CF Card which works fine and I downloaded WifiFofum application that was able to pick up about 30 networks between me and a friends house. However, I am lost as a goose in a snow storm on HOW to actually get an IP address off one of these signals and be able to surf the web or check my e-mail.

I am new to the wireless arena but I have 15 years of Networking experience so I understand all about protocols , routers, switches, etc etc. It seems as if I have had much better luck with my XP Pro laptop and my wireless card in a coffee shop providing wireless Internet but I have not tried it out in the wild yet.

Is there a resource on the Net that will help me understand HOW to make a connection with my Ipaq? What about users groups in the Charleston SC area? I am open to suggestions.

Thanks

Pony99CA
06-27-2004, 03:11 AM
I am relatively new to the wireless networking using my Pocket PC (HP 2215). I have a Wireless CF Card which works fine and I downloaded WifiFofum application that was able to pick up about 30 networks between me and a friends house. However, I am lost as a goose in a snow storm on HOW to actually get an IP address off one of these signals and be able to surf the web or check my e-mail.
First, you realize that accessing a wireless network without permission may be illegal, right?

Second, is your iPAQ set up to use DHCP (server-assigned IP address)? If not, try using that. Of course, if the router you're trying to connect to has DHCP off, it won't matter.

Third, does WiFiFoFum show if the network is encrypted or not? If it is encrypted, you'll need the key to access the network.

Steve