View Full Version : What's Windows CE .NET?

DiGiTYZED
06-09-2004, 09:26 PM
I'm looking at the driver page for my stinking bluetooth card and it lists Windows CE .NET as an OS along with Windows Mobile 2003, Pocket PC 2002, Pocket PC & Windows XP/2000/ME/98.

What's Windows CE .NET?

TIA

nosmohtac
06-09-2004, 10:27 PM
I am not a developer, or IT person, but I will tell you my understanding of it.

CE.NET is the OS that Windows mobile 2003 is based on.
There are a few devices out, that are running CE.NET, but a majority are going to be WM2003.

Kowalski
06-09-2004, 11:04 PM
i am sorry but where did you get this idea?
.NET is actualy a runtime environment. basicly it works like VB runtimes, but much more complicated and better implementation.
when you compile your application by a .NET compiler to output of the compiler is not a machine code. the application is converted to machine code in the runtime. this is called cross platform.
so you can have any type of proccessor or any type of device, and if the device has .NET interprater you can run your application.

Jeff Rutledge
06-10-2004, 12:15 AM
.NET is actualy a runtime environment. basicly it works like VB runtimes, but much more complicated and better implementation.

See, that's not how I understood it. I thought what you're describing above is the .NET framework (or the .NET CF for mobile devices). I thought CE.NET was the platform on which the Windows Mobile 2003 was developed.

It think there are a few of us in this boat. Maybe somebody who actually knows can chime in. ;)

Jonathon Watkins
06-10-2004, 12:44 AM

See, that's not how I understood it. I thought what you're describing above is the .NET framework (or the .NET CF for mobile devices). I thought CE.NET was the platform on which the Windows Mobile 2003 was developed.

I believe that you are correct JR. I also believe that CE.NET is also known as CE 4.2, as you can see here (http://msdn.microsoft.com/chats/embedded/embedded_050103.asp).