View Full Version : First Timer

BarePaw
06-06-2004, 02:26 AM
I am a pharmacy student looking to get a Pocket PC for work/school. It needs to have enough memory to hold and run a drug database program quickly, so that I can answer customers questions about their perscriptions without waiting on it.
Most drug programs are for Palm, so a Palm emulator would be nice. Does such a program exist?
I will need MS Word, Excel, and an external fold-up keyboard (fullsize preferably) for school, as well as a voice recording program that will record a full 2 hour lecture.
I will also need wireless internet compatable with the local coffee shop's system. This is the area that I don't really understand. I asked the guy down there and he said it was a "Linksys" system. Someone else told me that I would need "Wifi". The models I've been looking at have "Bluetooth". Are these all compatible?
I was looking at the Hp iPaq h4155. Would this suit my needs? I would have to get the keyboard separately. Could you guys reccomend one? Also, where would be the cheapest place to go for one? They are around $450.00 right now at CompUSA. That's where I was today.
Thanks for the help, guys. It's very much appreciated.

Sven Johannsen
06-06-2004, 03:17 AM
At the risk of being flamed, if the primary reason for buying a PDA, is to run one specific program, and that is ONLY available for the PALM OS, buy a Palm (or Sony Clie while you still can). I don't think you will be very happy with the performance of a Palm emulator on the PPC, if it even exists.

For the rest of your requirements. Pocket vrsions of Word and Excel do exist and are standard. They are by no means full featured. Anemic is a polite description. They will allow you to view the data (info) in a word or excel file, but creating and editing has very limited feature sets. There are outstanding third party options whether you wish to just view the files in all their glory, or actually wish to create and edit.