View Full Version : Would you play a game like this?

JakeP
05-28-2004, 12:23 AM
Hello, I am a bit new to Pocket PC software development, but I have started on a Project called Pocket Game Network. Basicly, it is an online game network allowing you to play turn-based games with other people on the internet using a Pocket PC 2003 device. It only works if you have a working internet connection on your handheld.

Here are some screenshots of what I have done so far:
http://www.ti-news.net/jake/PGN.jpg
http://www.ti-news.net/jake/Quadlinker.jpg

So far, I have one simple game done, Quadlinker, which is basicly a connect 4 clone. I am working on a very nice, HTML interface for the client program as well.

I am posting this just to see how much interest there is in the community for a game like this, and if anyone has any suggestions.

Blue Zero
05-28-2004, 01:04 AM
8O cool! This looks interesting enough...

but does it must be on a internet connection?
or can it be play via BlueToothy?

Jon Westfall
05-28-2004, 01:43 AM
It would be nice to support play by internet, wifi, bluetooth, or (shutter) IrDA. I would play it, providing the price was right.

Brad Adrian
05-28-2004, 02:13 AM
I think what you're doing looks great! Most of us are pretty new to remote gaming on our Pocket PCs, so I'm excited to see new stuff like this. Keep up the good work.

Thanks for giving us a glimpse. And, if you need any help with testing, feel free to drop the Thoughts readers or Editorial Team a line.

lmbranco
05-28-2004, 10:44 AM
It sure looks like a very interesting ideia. I am a big fan of network play, and if you add suport for bluetooth, irda and other modes, then you will have a winner!

Good job man!!

JakeP
05-28-2004, 12:11 PM
Here are answers to some of your questions:

1. It will be 100% freeware. No ads or subscription fees either.