View Full Version : OMAP/XScale/ARM? - compatibility and comparisons?

galt
05-27-2004, 12:45 AM
I'm new to the PPC world, and in my ongoing research about PPC devices/OSs/software, I've noticed that many 3rd party programs for PPC devices often advertise compatibility with only certain processors. For example, web browser software Net Access 3.1 (http://nfppc.access.co.jp/english/about.html#04) mentions that the version of its software that has JV - Lite2 compatibility is only compatible with the XScale and ARM processors. It specifically states that it does not support MIPS and SH - 3 devices. I had e-mailed Access, the developers of this software, regarding MPx and TI OMAP support/compatibility and was sent a response stating that they "...don't plan to support the MPX on TI OMAP at this time.".

Here are my questions:

The yet-to-be-released Motorola MPx uses a TI OMAP processor. I've read up on the processor but I'm still confused... is OMAP truly ARM compatible? When I browse the TI web site (http://focus.ti.com/omap/docs/omapgenpage.tsp?navigationId=11555&templateId=5663&path=templatedata/cm/omapproc/data/integrated), it looks like at least some of the OMAP processors (http://focus.ti.com/omap/docs/omapgenpage.tsp?navigationId=9303&templateId=5663&path=templatedata/cm/omapproc/data/omap710) have integrated ARM processors.

In general in the PPC world, how often are there compatibility issues for software between processor types? Is the OMAP processor well supported?