View Full Version : Invalid Pocket PC Application - HP ipaq 2210

melb_angel19
05-08-2004, 02:34 AM
No matter what I try to install, it says it's not a valid pocket PC application. I have tried software from the HP site. I have a HP ipaq 2210 with Pocket PC 2003. Does anyone know of any free software that is definately compatible with this device so I can try installing it as I'm starting to worry that something is wrong with it.

Steven Cedrone
05-08-2004, 03:37 AM
Most software requires being installed from a PC. You wouldn't be able to just copy it to the Pocket PC and run it.

Steve

melb_angel19
05-08-2004, 06:03 AM
Silly me! I have never used a pocket PC before so I was unaware of that. The installations all work via my laptop. Thats for the tip!!!
:D

Pony99CA
05-08-2004, 07:24 AM
Silly me! I have never used a pocket PC before so I was unaware of that. The installations all work via my laptop. Thats for the tip!!!
:D
Of course, there are a few applications that you just copy to the Pocket PC. In general, trying running them on the PC first. If that gives you some error saying the program can't run, then you should try just putting the program on your Pocket PC. For those programs, you'll also probably want to create a shortcut in your Programs folder (or a sub-folder).

Steve

Kacey Green
05-08-2004, 05:08 PM
Don't forget .cab files, which you copy to the device and run there. Most of the time they delete themselves after installation is complete.

Pony99CA
05-08-2004, 05:21 PM
Don't forget .cab files, which you copy to the device and run there. Most of the time they delete themselves after installation is complete.
I didn't forget them; in fact, I thought of mentioning them, but chose not to because I figured that people knew what to do with them. I also didn't mention ZIP and MSI files for the same reason.

Of course, I also thought people knew how to install Pocket PC software from EXE files, which this thread has shown was a bad assumption. :-D

Steve