View Full Version : Batch encode into wmv files

sebjo
05-06-2004, 11:13 PM
I have mpeg videos which I have encoded successfully into wmv with the windows media encoder 9 series. Now I need to be able to batch encode several files overnight. Does anyone know of a utility that will let me do this easily.

Sebastian

suddenly_ike
05-07-2004, 06:54 AM
I have mpeg videos which I have encoded successfully into wmv with the windows media encoder 9 series. Now I need to be able to batch encode several files overnight. Does anyone know of a utility that will let me do this easily.

Sebastian

you can use windows media encoding script (part of windows media encoder) to encode a full folder.
Use the following commandline in the msdos command prompt

cscript.exe wmcmd.vbs –input C:\My Videos\video.avi -output C:\My Videos-encoded\video.wmv -loadprofile C:\My Profile\pocketpc.prx

Ike

sebjo
05-07-2004, 02:47 PM
Thanks for the reply. I am not really a programmer. How easy is it to use this command. I mean where exactly would I enter the code (msdos command line??)

Seb

Tom W.M.
05-08-2004, 05:44 AM
To get a command line window, click on Start > Run or press [Win]-[R], and then type "cmd" (without the quotes) in to the text box, and press [Enter].

Ike, it's not clear how that command works. Is "video.avi" just a placeholder that will be replaced in turn with the names of each of the videos, or should it be "*.avi" (or "*.mpg" or "*.mpeg" for Sebjo, since he's doing MPEG videos)?

suddenly_ike
05-08-2004, 06:26 AM
sorry ,
the command I gave was to convert the sample file "video.avi" to video.wmv
This "video.avi" can be almost any video file type. (the same as supported by windowsmedia encoder)

To convert a whole folder you just have to specify the folder... type:

cscript.exe wmcmd.vbs –input C:\My Videos\ -output C:\My Videos-encoded\ -loadprofile C:\My Profile\pocketpc.prx

before you type in the command, make sure you are in the windowsmedia encoder directory.