View Full Version : rookie wanting to buy pocketpc, needs guidance

VALUER
04-17-2004, 06:19 PM
group,
i'm totally new to pda's and need some guidance. i am a real estate appraiser and i have regular need to access internet while in field to connect to a mls database via internet. Looking at HP Ipaq's or Dell pocket pc. from what i read it appears i will need to buy some time interface or bluetooth adapter to access internet via my cell phone. suggestions would be appreciated. minimum memory, minimum processor speed, difficulty in use of cell phone as a modem, etc.

JustinGTP
04-17-2004, 10:05 PM
When you want to enter the MLS database, a Pocket PC with a traditional screen and resolution may not too desirable, the screen and resolution is just too tiny.

I would recommend a new VGA Pocket PC, their screens are far nicer and not too mention bigger.

Accessing the internet over your cell phone, you need Bluetooth on the PDA and Cell Phone and an Internet plan on your cell phone. You could hook up with a Gomadic cable, but it would be bulky to carry around.

-Justin.

Also, a tip from me to you would be to ask this question in the Just Chatting forum, you would get far better results and answers.

Wiggster
04-18-2004, 12:22 AM
If you have a bluetooth phone, and think that 240x320 is good enough resolution, I'd recommend the iPaq 1945 (http://pocketpcthoughts.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=1044605/search=ipaq%2520194/ut=18018db1b02f9ecf). It's What I'd consider just above minimum specs: it's got a 266 MHz processor, 64mb RAM, SDIO slot (secure digital IO. (PDAs store all the information in either RAM or on storage cards, so if you need more than 30mb of space, you can find a 256 mb SD card for under $80 now), built-in bluetooth, and a nice form factor.