View Full Version : Beginner PDA

GuyInTn
03-16-2004, 05:15 PM
Hi all,

My wife has finally decided she wants a pda. Can someone suggest one that is easy for beginners to use? She really needs it to keep a calendar, address book, some ebooks and maybe a couple of games.

Thanks,
GuyInTn

Jacob
03-16-2004, 05:27 PM
An older 1910 might be appropriate - it's small and easy enough I would think.

antondubina
03-16-2004, 05:33 PM
Better get 1940/45. Faster -- less irritation :roll:

Paula
03-17-2004, 09:48 AM
Hi all,

My wife has finally decided she wants a pda. Can someone suggest one that is easy for beginners to use? She really needs it to keep a calendar, address book, some ebooks and maybe a couple of games.

Thanks,
GuyInTn

I am also new to the PPC world and am cutting my teeth on an h2215.
It is fast enough for great games, has dual mem card slots (this is a big plus) and is as cute as can be. I keep all documents like ebooks, work documents and anything I would keep on paper on my SD card. My CF card contains games, backups, more games, music and video clips.
It has the newest OS, Mobile 2003. it also has the ability to access the internet with the aid of a wireless card (CF or SD) or with the bulit-in Bluetooth. It is easy enough to use, although like all newbies she will need some direction.

One thing I found is that she may intend to only use a few features but may quickly want to expand. The 2215 is a perfect PPC to grow into.

Paula

Zack Mahdavi
03-17-2004, 10:44 PM
I'd have to recommend a Palm Zire 21. It's cheap and it's a great first PDA.

However, I noticed you said she might read eBooks. She'd probably want a PDA with a color screen and an expansion slot. I'd then recommend either a used iPaq 1910 or a Palm Tungsten E. Both are great PDAs and have wonderful, bright color screens with SD expansion. Also, in my opinion, the stock PIM programs on the Palm are much friendlier than the Pocket PC.

JustinGTP
03-18-2004, 03:34 AM
zkmusa!