View Full Version : Add wireless to my network -

PDANEWBIE
02-13-2004, 07:14 PM
Okay let me put fourth right now that I already have a full home network, I have a router going to a switch with over 10 PC's off the switch and I have 1 main DC running active directory on its own hardcoded IP scheme. On top of this my home router is set up to dynamically assign IP's out to anything that connects to it. (Basically this was setup with a few leases in case friends wanted to hit the internet without configuring all of their network settings).

Also note that my entire house is networked 10/100 cat 5 Cableing.

Now I am new to wireless and want to set this up right the first time. With the fact that I already have a at home DHCP setup and that I really can plug in an accesspoint anywhere in the house considering I already having a full running network would a single network access point instead of a wireless router work in this instance?

Does a wireless access point have to be in an uplink port in order for it to work correctly? Basiclly from what I understand is the wireless access point is really just a throughput so it should be able to sit on any port no?

Lastly are there any restrictions besides A B G and A+G that a person needs to worry about between access points and wireless cards?

I.E. If you have a Linksys card but a Belin Access Point would that not work correctly?

(Now to the PDA part of my question)
I am planning on buying a CF Wireless card - Has anyone had rave reviews for one vrs the other. Are their any good wireless setup toutorial pages for Ipaq's running 2K3 as this is my first PDA and I have not delt with networking yet on a PDA and the menus are all in strange places.

Lastly are there any GREAT networking tools that one can suggest for a Pocket PC. I am looking for things that will allow you to do the standard informational things you can over a network on a full blown PC including nbtstating a computer or tracert and things like that.