View Full Version : Getting my Active Sync to recognize my computer wirelessly

bilbo1969
01-25-2004, 07:18 PM
I've been searching these threads for my situation, but haven't seen anything quite similar...

I have an Ipaq 3650 connecting via Ambicon wireless CF card to my Linksys router. I can surf the net/web just fine, but my ActiveSync attempts end in tears. I think it has to do with the fact that my PPC settings for ActiveSync says to connect remotely to a computer name that doesn't exist on my network, but I can't seem to change it.

Keeping in mind that I am relatively new to the PPC could someone walk me step by step through the process without a lot of the tech-talk?

Thanks in advance.

BTW, great forum!

bilbo1969
01-25-2004, 10:05 PM
Boy, lots of looks but no replies.

If it helps any my coniguration is as follows:
Desktop is running Window XP home - connected directly to the Linksys Broadband wireless router which is connected to my DSL modem.

Ipaq 3650 was upgraded to Pocket Pc 2002 and has the Ambicon 802.11b wireless card installed.

My Desktop has "Bils Sony" as it's regular name and VALUED-XXXXXXXX (privacy, you know) as it's host name.

When I try to change my activesync settings on the iPaq, the "Include PC when... " box is checked but the only computer I can hook up with is "Bil" (and yes, I know I spell my name with only one 'l'... long story) :lol:

ctmagnus
01-25-2004, 11:13 PM
I'm not 100% sure this will work but if you're comfortable editing the registry, it's worth a try.

Get a good registry editor for the Pocket PC (I recommend this one (http://www.phm.lu/Products/PocketPC/RegEdit/)) and navigate to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows CE Services\Partners and find the key relating to your computer (probably P1). If the PName value isn't the name of the computer you want to synchronize with, change it to this. Shutdown the registry editor, soft-reset and try again. It should work this time. If not, I'm as stumped as you are. :)

bilbo1969