View Full Version : Technoholic,Chocoholic,Workaholic?

nosmohtac
01-11-2004, 08:28 AM
I've always found the english language interesting. I am far from an expert at it, but am sometimes amazed at words that make their way in to dictionaries.

For example, how in the heck do we come up with words like Technoholic,Chocoholic,Workaholic? There are many other examples that would fit in to this discussion, but I want do discuss these words that have derived from the term "alcoholic". If you take the root of the word, you end up with "alcohol". To me, this makes "ic" the suffix. I know it doesn't sound proper and maybe it doesn't make much sense, but I think these terms should follow the same grammar rules. A person who is a techno-geek and is constantly upgrading his/her gadgets should be a "techic, technoic, or technologyic". A person who can't say no to chocolate, should be a "chocic, chocolic, or chocolatic" etc.

Just an observation. Anyone else have any grammar, or language pet peeves like this? I saw another post here about someone who dislikes the misuse of its/it's, I usually try not to correct people's grammar, or choice of words, but sometimes I can't let it go. Another one that really bothers me is people that say "fustrated when they mean frustrated", or I know someone who calls Pneumonia, ammonia. Neither of these examples cause me to misunderstand what is being communicated, but they touch a nerve with me that makes it hard not to say something.

Jon Westfall
01-11-2004, 07:21 PM
INTERNET SLANG MUST DIE.

Ok, that's my rant. As I've translated for some hapless soul that may run accross this: PAOPL3 ON AOL AND OTHER UNDARAEG TYPAS RILLY NED 2 LAARN HOW 2 USE SPELNG GRMM3R AND TEH 3NGLISH LANGUAEG 2 THEYRE ADVANTAEG NOT DISADVANTAEG!!!!! OMG WTF LOL (courtsey of this site and others like it (http://ssshotaru.homestead.com/files/aolertranslator.html)).