View Full Version : Help! I'm ready to throw my wireless card out the window! (or, worse yet, my iPAQ!)

Hugh Nano
01-09-2004, 05:38 AM
All right. To begin with, please forgive me if this inquiry duplicates lots of other pleas for help, but I've already spent so much time sifting the internet for solutions that seem to do absolutely nothing, that right now I'd rather just turn to my friends at my favorite Pocket PC site for help.

I have an iPAQ 3650 recently upgraded to Pocket PC 2002 (see my earlier posts for some of my woes there... ended up having to rebuild the ROM from one of Compaq's old ROM updates!) and a GemTek wireless LAN card (802.11b). I am trying to connect to the internet through a wireless hub which connects directly to the internet through our school network. I have two laptops with various 802.11b cards that connect to the internet through the hub just fine--but my Pocket PC refuses to make any sort of connection!

I'm relatively new to PPC 2002's Connection Manager (Mangler), but I think by now I must have tried virtually every combination of Internet-Work-Internet, Internet-Internet-Work, etc., imaginable about five times over. Nothing seems to work. Either I get a message that "The page you are looking for cannot be found" or else I get the "Trouble Connecting" dialog ("Unable to connect with current settings. To change your connection settings, tap Settings"), which takes me to the same useless Work-Work-Work, Internet-Internet-Work, etc. Connections page. Nothing works!

OK. Now I'm even more puzzled. As I've been typing this, I've continued to fiddle with settings and stuff, and finally (to my immense surprise) got connected with a Work-Work-Work setting. "Eureka!" I thought, but, still suspicious, turned off my Pocket PC to see if it would still work when I turned it on again. It didn't. :cry: Once again, "The page you are looking for cannot be found" all the time.