View Full Version : Are the Axim X3 basic 32 mb of ram enough for a PPC ??

Draculaaa
01-07-2004, 11:17 PM
Hi Guys,

I've been shopping for my first PocketPC and had narrowed my choice to a Toshiba, but now I'm considering the Axim X3 as an option since it looks like a better deal due to quality and specs. The problem is that with my budget I can only afford the X3 basic with 32 megs of ram and the 300 mhz processor.

I'm new to the PPC world, is the 32 megs of RAM enough for PPC??

I'm planning to get a 128 mb SD card but I don't know if the 32 of megs of ram will limit the use of the PDA in any way, I mean will I be able to run all types of programs, games, etc with only 32 mb of ram?

Thanks in advance.

Drac.

baker
01-08-2004, 03:03 AM
What are your reasons for using your device? If it is simply PIM then the answer is yes. I have an e310 that only has 32 meg. I load books, family photos and documents for work on a 128 meg storage card. It's fine as long as I shut down most of what I'm not using at the time. In other words, multitasking isn't too good for me at 32 meg. It's slow sometimes loading a few things. I've had mine for almost two years and the more I use it, the more I want to put on it to expand it's usefulness. For my use, I'd take a slower chip with more RAM. Your needs (and opinions) may dictate otherwise.

PetiteFlower
01-08-2004, 07:19 PM
I get along ok with my X5/32 megs. I wish I had more sometimes but it's certainly perfectly usable, I can use Pocket Nester with no problems(25fps on 200mh setting, 30 on 300mh) and I was even able to watch movies with it, using Pocket MVP. Unless you're a total power user(I'd say I'm a medium power user) then you'll probably be fine with the 32 megs, especially if this is your first ppc.

minimage
01-08-2004, 11:47 PM