View Full Version : Help Getting my Father Wireless?

Enderet
01-03-2004, 08:17 AM
Well my father travels a lot and he just got a laptop for chirstmas. The thing is, he wants to be able to connect to the internet...wirelessly. Unfortunately my knowledge in this matter is very limited and after looking at what AT&T, TMobile, and Sprint has to offer, I am somewhat confused as to what is best. All he wants to be able to do is check his mail (yahoo), send emails, and do some light surfing.
He recently saw an ad in a magazine for the Toughbook 29 (very impressive notebook by the way) and he brought it to me and told me "that is what I want" (he was referring to the "wireless anywhere" that the toughbook has. I am really new to this, so I wanted to know if anybody could tell me what the current situation is in the United States in regards to services (including personal experiences), and straight-forward advice as to what to do with my father's need. I hope this isnt too vague of a plea, but any help would be welcome.

Mitchybums
01-03-2004, 09:16 AM
so far, depending on your location, wifi isnt everywhere yet.
if your dad is in a city area, there might be wifi access everywhere, but probably the best way to go is getting a cellphone with exelent coverage and use that one as a modem for the laptop.

if the modem has bluetooth, it might be handy to have bluetooth in the laptop or a bluetooth usb adapter so he doesnt have to hookup cables to connect, and he can even leave the phone in his pocket this way.

there are different speeds alsoavailiable for celphones, so look into that.

David Prahl
01-03-2004, 05:35 PM
Almost every notebook manufacturrer these days is offering a wireless laptop, and most (include the Toughbook line) use Intel's Centrino chipset to get wireless.
http://www.panasonic.com/computer/toughbook/learn_more_tb29.asp