View Full Version : IBM Microdrive, how reliable are they?

PoweriPaq
12-29-2003, 10:41 PM
So I've been using my Microdrive for 2 months now, but had it for 2 years. But it's just been for 2 months that it has been worked like a horse. Playing movies is all it did, but just last week, it died on me. Can't even flash format, and none of my reader can recognize it. So how reliable are they?

I'm thinking of getting a 2Gig CF, non-microdrive version, but looking to return this to IBM if it's an option.

PetiteFlower
12-29-2003, 11:22 PM
I don't generally think of microdrives as very reliable at all, because of the moving parts. From posts here, it seems like most people don't get more then a year of use out of them. All hard drives are delicate, so putting one in a PPC that tends to get bumped and jostled and generally abused just doesn't seem condusive to a happy drive. Get some flash memory, it has no moving parts so it will be a lot more stable. Use less battery too.

SassKwatch
12-30-2003, 07:24 AM
So I've been using my Microdrive for 2 months now, but had it for 2 years.

My MD is ~ 1.5 yr old. These days it's pretty much relegated to duty in the digicam, so it doesn't get used daily, but occasionally goes in the iPAQ as well. Nary a problem.

Thus far, it 'just keeps on ticking'.....well, figuratively speaking, not literally. :)

Janak Parekh
12-30-2003, 04:38 PM
My MD is ~ 1.5 yr old. These days it's pretty much relegated to duty in the digicam, so it doesn't get used daily, but occasionally goes in the iPAQ as well. Nary a problem.
Mine lasted about two years before developing bad sectors. Now it's relegated to sitting in a case. :|

I love the idea, but I fear PF is correct -- the MDs just will have a smaller MTBF than flash media...

--janak

jkendrick
12-30-2003, 04:53 PM
I've been using my 1gb microdrive for almost 4 years now. It's never hiccuped, failed, slowed down, or anything. And it's never been reformatted either.

pocketpcfox
12-30-2003, 09:46 PM