View Full Version : Please help a Pocket PC Damsel in Distress!!! I'm lost in the wilderness.

reedrummond
12-28-2003, 02:30 AM
Hey, all you smart Pocket PC guys out there. I just got a new HP IPAQ 5555. I'm completely new to the Pocket PC world, and I'm afraid I overestimated what I'd be able to do on it. Here is what I want to do: I want to connect to the internet using only my IPAQ, out in the middle of nowhere (I live in the country). Obviously, Hot Spots are not an option for me, so is there any such thing as setting up a wireless network on my home computer (which has a satellite internet connection), and accessing that connection with my IPAQ say, 1 or 2 miles away from my home? Is this even remotely (no pun intended) possible?
I know nothing about this, so don't laugh if this is the craziest notion you've ever heard.
Please tell me I can do this, because I love the IPAQ already...but I really need to be able to check email and futures quotes out in the middle of a pasture if I need to!
I will love you for any information you can give me...

nosmohtac
12-28-2003, 04:15 AM
I'm writing this with my pocket pc with a wi-fi connection. I don't know how your land is set up, but there is a way to do it. I may not be an expert at it, but I do believe there is a way to reach that far. I think the best bet would be to put a wireless router on your home computer, and if you have a building closer to your pasture (with power), you could put a wireless access point there, repeating the signal from your home. If you don't have a building closer to your pasture, you should be able to rig an external antena to the router to boost the signal strength. I've never done this, but I have spoke to someone who was able to connect about 15 miles away, with there antenna modified. Good luck, and please post your results if successful. 8)

Janak Parekh
12-28-2003, 06:37 AM