View Full Version : mapping network drives?

nosmohtac
12-23-2003, 01:09 AM
I'm new to the world of WiFi, and was wondering how to map drives from my desktop on my laptop.
I know there are programs like netuse, and resco file explorer for the pocket pc, but do I need something similar for my laptop?

Right now if I right like on <My Computer> and select<Map Network Drives> It will only allow me to view what's in the shared folder.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Mark Kenepp
12-23-2003, 02:03 AM
What OS are you using (XP)

I have never used XP but I am sure that the process is the same. You will only be able to map a network drive to a shared folder on the other computer. If you can navigate through network neighborhood (My network places?) to the other folder and view the shared folders, just right-click on them and select "Map network drive"

If you want to map something other than the current shared folder, you will need to create a new share for the folder you want to map.

I would assume that it is the same for XP as it is for 2000/NT.

Am I getting at what you are trying to do?

nosmohtac
12-23-2003, 04:34 AM
Yes, your on the right track, but I use my laptop for work as well. I have Windows XP Home. I have two accounts set up. One for personal and one for business. When I am connected to the LAN at work, I can map any of the network drives that I am authorized for. I just thought that it would be the same on a home network. I figured I could map the C: or D: drive off of my Desk top on my laptop, so I could see everything.

Suntech
12-23-2003, 04:51 AM
Yes, it will work the same, just remember whatever Lan you connect to (Work-Home) you will get an error that the laptop could not connect to all network drives. Hope that helps. :)

Wiggin
12-23-2003, 09:22 AM
I just thought that it would be the same on a home network. I figured I could map the C: or D: drive off of my Desk top on my laptop, so I could see everything.