View Full Version : Which Software Should I Avoid?

Paula
12-20-2003, 05:45 AM
I'm going in a different direction than most. :D

I am waiting for my ipaq 2215 to arrive from the USA (10 weeks and still waiting, but a new PPC was just mailed, so there is still hope). :?

What I would like to know is what software should I aviod loading on my ppc? I am new to all of this, as this is my first PPC. :oops:

What software isn't Mobile 2003 compatable?
what software usually causes freezes?
what software isn't compatable with most other software?
What software should be avoded at all costs because it is just...awful?

I am hoping this information will help me avoid frantic posts 8O to this forum.

Happy Holidays :)
Paula

sublime
12-20-2003, 08:00 AM
Wisbar Advance - I had trouble with it. It looks very pretty, but I could not access my start menu with it activated.
Pocket Controller - Installation of it resulted in my PPC doing very weird things

I, too, use the 2210, but that does not mean that you shall suffer my troubles. You might get lucky. I didn't.

Fishie
12-20-2003, 09:07 AM
2210/2215 here as well and no problems whatsoever with Wisbar Advanced.

Lex
12-20-2003, 01:46 PM
I avoid anything from software sites with -no- screenshot displayed.

If they don't have tech skill to post a screenshot wonder what the app will do to my PPC?

But in 2 years of using an iPAQ 3845 the only app that created a hard crash was one that came on the CD packaged with the 3845 !

I've tried some crummy apps but they deleted fine and left little or no mess to clean up.

AggieJon
12-20-2003, 05:29 PM
Pocket Controller - Installation of it resulted in my PPC doing very weird things

I'm sure everyone has different experiences with just about any program. I have a 2215 and have had no problems with Pocket Controller. In fact, I really like it! :) It likely has conflicts with some other programs that you may install on your PPC, but I have not had any conflicts.

Possum48
12-20-2003, 06:17 PM