View Full Version : How many car accidents have you been in?

sublime
12-13-2003, 12:32 AM
My father just got in another car accident a couple of days ago. I'd say that goes at the rate of demolishing one car every 3-4 years. Is that regular for car drivers? I just want to know if he's as bad a driver as I assume, or if that's regular for most of you.

Dave Beauvais
12-13-2003, 01:02 AM
I hope your father wasn't injured. Is he okay? Was anyone else hurt?

I've been driving for about twelve years and have had no accidents, speeding tickets, or citations of any kind. (Okay, there were occasional tickets for an expired parking meter a few years back during college.) Of course now that I say that, I'll get a speeding ticket and then get in an accident while getting back on the freeway afterward. :) Judging from the experiences of my family and friends, however, I'd say I'm the exception rather than the rule. My brother totaled two trucks within three years, friends have gotten speeding tickets or been in accidents, etc.

sublime
12-13-2003, 01:26 AM
Yeah, my father's fine, but a little shook up. Another car hit his and wound up ripping off the bumper. Had he driven one more meter forward he would have been t-boned.

JackTheTripper
12-13-2003, 01:26 AM
Been driving 13 years. Had 1 accident.

Have had a motorcycle license for 5 years. Had 2 drops while standing still and one crash when I went off the road into a ditch.

Pat Logsdon
12-13-2003, 01:42 AM
I had two very minor accidents about 10 years ago, and that's it. Other than the 8 speeding tickets. :oops:

I like to drive fast, you see. Wouldn't you? (http://www.vwvortex.com/gallery/gallery3.php?mode=view&album=/Volkswagen/Golf%20-%20GTI%20-%20Rabbit/Golf%20IV/Golf%20R32%20-%20Europe&pic=004.jpg&start=&dispsize=600) :mrgreen:

Alas, I've either gotten slower or smarter as I've gotten older - I think my last speeding ticket was about 5 years ago.

dh
12-13-2003, 02:00 AM