View Full Version : IS soft resetting bad for an ipaq?

tdrake
12-11-2003, 10:48 PM
hi everyone --
I am new to ipaqs - just got my 1930 a month ago and already love it. But I had a couple questions.

What exactly is the soft-reset?
What does it do?
Can you do it too much and ruin something?
Should I not reset if I dont have to?
Should I not use programs (like orientation programs) that require me to soft reset?

LEt me know -- thanks

Dave Beauvais
12-11-2003, 10:59 PM
What exactly is the soft-reset?
It's the same as rebooting a desktop computer. Only faster. :)

What does it do?
Clears program memory, and restarts all programs in the \Windows\Startup folder. Anything in storage memory is safe, though, and will not be erased. (Unlike a hard reset, which wipes all data in the device's RAM, such as your contacts, appointments, tasks, etc.) Storage cards are safe even with a hard reset.

It's important to note that any unsaved data at the time of a soft reset will probably be lost just as if you pressed the reset button on your PC with applications running. For example, if you were writing something in Pocket Word and pressed the reset button on your Pocket PC, anything you had written since the last save would be lost.

Can you do it too much and ruin something? ...
No, it's perfectly safe to soft reset a Pocket PC as often as you wish. Unless I install or uninstall software that requires a soft reset, however, I only have to do it a couple times per week at most. Some people do it more often for one reason or another. You could reset every minute or so and not damage anything, but you wouldn't get much accomplished! :)

Hope that helped!

Palmguy
12-11-2003, 11:00 PM
It's a good idea to soft reset every now and then just to clear out program memory.

tdrake
12-11-2003, 11:01 PM
Thanks Dave - that was a quick response too. I appreciate it and will try to not reset every few minutes from now on! :wink:

Have a good afternoon.

Crazie.Eddie
12-12-2003, 01:02 AM