View Full Version : linux and windows apps

sicksound
12-10-2003, 09:47 PM
hey,

i'm brand new to the pocket pc world. i'm thinking of getting the viewsonic V36. here's a few things i'm wondering:

1) is it possible to format the harddrive (or flash rom or whatever is used) and install a linux based os, or any other one?

2) with windows pocket pc 2003 can i run any applications i can run in say xp?

3) it's a 300mhz processor. is it really about as good as my old p2 300?

thanks, just wondering if i should put it on my xmas list!

dean_shan
12-10-2003, 09:54 PM
hey,

i'm brand new to the pocket pc world. i'm thinking of getting the viewsonic V36. here's a few things i'm wondering:

1) is it possible to format the harddrive (or flash rom or whatever is used) and install a linux based os, or any other one?
Some have flashed their iPaqs with a linix os (http://www.bryhni.com/~jane/ipaq/). Don't try it though. You can easily ruin your device.

2) with windows pocket pc 2003 can i run any applications i can run in say xp?
No

3) it's a 300mhz processor. is it really about as good as my old p2 300?

No

sicksound
12-10-2003, 10:17 PM
thanks for the help!

this certain pocket pc will end up costing me $199 after the rebate, is it worth it?

Kowalski
01-08-2004, 11:33 AM
since windows xp and windows mobile are different platforms the use different amount of clock cycles but i can say that an xscale proccessor is far better and powerfull than a pentium II with the same clock speed

Janak Parekh
01-08-2004, 05:06 PM
since windows xp and windows mobile are different platforms the use different amount of clock cycles but i can say that an xscale proccessor is far better and powerfull than a pentium II with the same clock speed