View Full Version : Sierra Aircard 555 and IPAQ 2215

mochegod
10-10-2003, 02:17 PM
I have an IPAQ 2215 and am looking at the Sierra Wireless Aircard 555 (through Verizon) for internet access. According to Sierra's website, there is a temporary patch that can be used for Mobile 2003 devices. However, it warns that you cannot create your own connection profiles.

Has anyone out there used this Sierra card(and patch) with the 2215 or Mobile 2003, and if so what is your opinion? Thanks!

Bob Anderson
10-10-2003, 02:22 PM
The Sierra Wireless Aircard 555 is a PC Card device ... not a Compact Flash or SD format.

What that means to you is... it won't work with the iPaq 2215. There is no way to get the card connected to your device.

I use the card with my 5450, but I had to buy a PC Card expansion pack for the 5450, so that the PC Card could be installed and run.

There is a 1xRTT CDMA data card in CF format available from Sprint, but I have no experience with that device. I'm sure someone here could tell you more about how that might work with your iPaq.

egoz
10-10-2003, 04:20 PM
Huh... I do believe that is *not* correct. But, maybe the unit above doesn't allow for a CF Expansion sleeve????

I have an iPaq 3900 *and* a CF Expansion Sleeve *and* the Aircard 555. And, it works. I also have upgraded to Mobile 2003 and have no problem with compatability.

It's a good solution, and Verizonwireless' ExpressNetwork is extremely reliable, and reasonably fast (not like my cable modem, for sure, but blows away compared to the ol' modem dialup days).

So, using this solution, i keep connected to my email, AIM, MSN Messenger, and surf websites when i'm bored, waiting, or commuting.

.rob adams

mochegod
10-10-2003, 04:24 PM
Bummer... Since Verizon's site states that one can"Insert Aircard 555 in your laptop or pocket PC and you're ready to go!", I was hoping that this was my internet anywhere solution for my IPAQ.