View Full Version : Windows Mobile 2003 on iPaq 5450

Myrddin
10-01-2003, 11:33 AM
Hey all,
I resisted the temptation to buy a 5550 and waited patiently for my upgrade for my 5450.

IT ARRIVED

I just completed the upgrade -- wow it's alot faster!

Now i'm wondering what i should watch out for in WM2003. I've heard about some issues with alarms and other stuff?

Can you folks give me any pointers on what to expect? Links? Advice? Thanks!

Also, can someone tell me what the ROM version should be?

I'd also be happy to answer any questions to 5450/5455 owners about the upgrade.

madbart
10-02-2003, 10:49 AM
2.00.21eng. I have been running it for 2 months without an issues. The only application that i cannot get to function is Perfect Home by twopeaks.com

Andrew
10-08-2003, 08:57 AM
Did any of you try installing the WiFi firmware and driver updates from the HP site? What gets me the most is that even though its a firmware update it installs into RAM and not ROM... still installing it helped with accessing some networks.

Ive only had the upgrade installed for a day though, but so far it sometimes seems really snappy and others sluggish, and I dont have all my apps back on yet.

One other thing, when I do a soft reset, I get the typical HP 'splashscreen' showing the rom version, but then I get a white screen that stays there for about 5-7 seconds before the password prompt appears. Anyone else get this?

TIA

Andrew

Myrddin
10-08-2003, 12:57 PM
Did any of you try installing the WiFi firmware and driver updates from the HP site? What gets me the most is that even though its a firmware update it installs into RAM and not ROM... still installing it helped with accessing some networks.

Ive only had the upgrade installed for a day though, but so far it sometimes seems really snappy and others sluggish, and I dont have all my apps back on yet.