View Full Version : Can't get T68i to bond with Axim + Socket BT card

QYV
09-20-2003, 11:50 PM
(I posted this in a front-page thread, but realized that my chances of getting help were better if I found a more appropriate forum)

Last night was my very first experience with Bluetooth. I had purchased a Socket Bluetooth CF card for my Axim already, and my T68i finally arrived in the mail. Dell Axim, Socket card, T68i - all well-known devices with good reputations, which is always something I try to do when buying computer-related equipment (I know how testing coverage goes; I work at a software company! ). You'd think I'd have had a great experience, right? All I was trying to do was bond (pair?) the Axim to the T68i using the Socket card in order to use my phone's GPRS connection for getting mail on the Axim. Heck, the Socket software even has a T68i setting built right in! How hard can it be?

I'm a pretty tech-savvy guy - not Janak, maybe, but not a total newb. When I started at 8pm or so last night, I was quite confident that I'd have things up and running in no time. Five hours and much swearing later, I had to admit defeat. I tried using the Socket WM 2003 software as well as the built-in WM 2003 Bluetooth app, and could not get the devices to bond properly no matter what I tried. The Axim with the Socket card never was able to discover the phone, despite putting the T68i into its 3-minute "Discoverability" mode about a million times and then searching for it with the Axim. Using the T68i to discover the Axim did work...sort of. The phone seemed to make the pairing fine, but the Axim refused to acknowledge that the T68i existed when I went to create a new GPRS connection, even though the bonding showed up just fine in the Bluetooth settings.