View Full Version : Keep it Legal Please

Jason Dunn
09-14-2003, 11:39 PM
I should have explained this when I opened up the forum evidently, but let me be perfectly clear: I can't allow the discussion of eBook "warez". In addition to personally finding such theft morally disgusting as an author myself, the liability issue is huge: if you start sharing how to steal eBooks with each other, and a publisher decides to stop by this forum, guess who could be held liable? Pocket PC Thoughts (me).

Please respect my request in this matter - there are certainly other ways for you to get & share this information.

Jereboam
09-15-2003, 12:11 AM
I'm sorry, but I haven't seen any real discussion of "warez" here since you opened the forum or beforehand actually...unless you have deleted any threads. There was one mention of an IRC chatroom which both the poster and I thought was probably inappropriate and duly invited any mod to remove the offending post, which is exactly what happened.

So, I feel offended that you feel that you have to post such a stern warning - immediately bringing up such emotive terms such as "morally disgusting" and "steal" - I sincerely hope that it wasn't directed at me, as I have spent hundreds upon hundreds of dollars, pounds, euros, rubles - whatever - acquiring legal and licensed copies of all my software, ebooks, music and so on ad infinitum, despite the (for example) readily available pirated copies of all of the above in Russia. I am a long term advocate of freeware, as I find many of these free programs superior to their commercial alternatives.

We're not children. I know these are your forums, but if someone has broken the rules perhaps a quiet message to that individual rather than a blanket warning would be more appropriate?

Thanks for listening...

J'bm

Jason Dunn
09-15-2003, 12:30 AM