View Full Version : Java Question

mirkazemisaman
09-07-2003, 02:57 AM
Sorry, this is perhaps not the best place to ask this question since it is not Pocket PC related, but this is the only place I could think of after searching for about 30 minutes on the net plus you developers could help me (who knows, maybe I'll write something for PPC in a few decades...).
Here's the deal, I just started learning Java after working with C++ for a little while. I have downloaded and installed the newest SDK (1.4.2 I think) from java.sun.com.

Now I need to edit and compile my code through Command Prompt. So I set up the DOS Box to work with the Java Compiler and made a dir to work in and also made some modifications to the sysedit file based on some advice I got from a beginner java site.

The compiler works well, but I have problems importing files:

I have put the following three files I needed for some specific project in the same directory as my other java files (C:\JavaFiles):

TerminalIO.jar
TurtleGraphics.jar
BreezySwing.jar

But when I try to import them (TerminalIO for example) in my program and compile them I get the following error message:
test.java:1: package TerminalIO does not exist
import TerminalIO.*;
^
1 error
Now I thought as long as I have those *.jar files in the dir, i should be OK; but it doesn't seem so. Do i need the files to be in some mysterious "package format"? Do I need to make a batch file? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jacob
09-07-2003, 03:03 AM
This sounds like a problem with how the classpath is set.

How are you setting the classpath in the compile command line?

Steven Cedrone
09-07-2003, 03:12 AM
Sorry, this is perhaps not the best place to ask this question since it is not Pocket PC related

Never hurts to ask... :wink:

I did move the post to the "Off-Topic" forum though...

Steven Cedrone
Community Moderator

Janak Parekh
09-07-2003, 04:15 AM