View Full Version : trying to "explore device" error and a few other questions, newbie help.

ekjl
08-21-2003, 01:24 PM
Hi yes, I'm new to the PPC scene and just bought my very first PPC, an Ipaq 2210.

1) I have a few problems with active sycn. It seems when I try to explore the device with my computer it pops up an error message saying - "Critical communications services have failed to start. Try resetting the mobile device, and then connect again." - I don't know if resetting means soft reset or power it off and back on, but I did both anyways and it didn't solve the problem.

2) Another question involving active sync. In the active sync windows on my desktop, I can never "get connected"(I do get connected but I'll explain the problem). Everytime I go down to File > Get connected . . . , it brings me to the wizard to detect my com ports and usb ports. It finds that they are all available and when I click next, it does the same search again. The only way I can connect is just sit my Ipaq on the cradle and it'll automatically get connected or go to File > Connection settings... (sometimes it'll connect and sometimes not). Are these normal?

3) Does the screen of the Ipaq easily get damaged/scratched by the stylus. I wanted to wait and order a screen protector but I just couldn't wait any longer to play with my new toy.

4) Is it safe to leave the Ipaq in the cradle to charge 24/7 or whenever you're not using it even if it's fully charged?

5) Is there any program that is catered towards college students(ie. schedulers)?

Thanks and I hope to read some response when I come home from work.

rhmorrison
08-21-2003, 02:03 PM
Here some quick answers: