View Full Version : Dell Axim vs HP1945

newmd
08-16-2003, 09:43 PM
I am new to the pocket pc idea. I've had my Palm Vx for many years, but want to move into the new age! I've been reading the recent messages on both the Axim and HP and I'm just as confused as ever. The only add on program that I think I want on the PPC is GPS. Important factors to me are speed, slim design, and long battery life. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance... md

GoldKey
08-16-2003, 10:44 PM
Well, how important is each to you? This ipaq will give you the slim design, but the Dell will give you the battery power. There is a + and - to each.

mv
08-17-2003, 03:26 AM
with the iPAQ you can also use bluetooth GPS.

AppleMac
08-17-2003, 12:37 PM
-The HP is cheaper
-233mhz
-MUCH smaller, lighter and thinner
-More functional D-Pad
-Smaller battery
-Bluetooth built in
-Better screen
-Windows Mobile 2003

-The Axim has better battery life
-Faster processor (300mhz or 400mhz)
-Dual Expansion (CompactFlash slot as well as SD/MMC/SDIO)
And thats about all i can think of :|

Bottom line is, if you want the newest and coolest technology (dual expansion, 400mhz processor) go for the Axim. If you want a tiny, slim, cheap PocketPC with its fair share of good features, go for the 1945.

If you want the best, buy an HP iPAQ 2210. It combines pretty much all the Axim's features into something a little wider and taller than a 1945 (but a fair amount thicker...)

PetiteFlower
08-18-2003, 03:08 AM
Better screen on 1945? I guess if you're into yellow it is.

Axim also has more memory and is a lot less money, which can make a difference if you're going to be also dropping a bundle on a GPS. And you can get a CF GPS for it as well, with the 1945, bluetooth would be your only option.

And unless something odd happened in the last 10 days while I was on vacation, all Axims are now shipping with WM 2003 are they not?

Excalliber
08-18-2003, 06:36 AM