View Full Version : XCPUScalar vs Pocket Hackmaster

bazza
08-09-2003, 11:58 AM
I'm new to overclocking utilities. Any thoughts on which is the better program? Had a look at the Brighthand forum (200 Pages) :?

Interested in ease of use, stability and OC speeds!

isilver
08-09-2003, 01:33 PM
I use Pocket Hackmaster. It seems to run pretty stable and with my Dell Axim 400mhz it gives me about an extra 100mhz. However when I first started to use it I found it very confusing. It has a lot of possible settings which I myself do not understand how to use. I might be able to overclock even more.

bazza
08-09-2003, 01:50 PM
Thanks for replying. I have an HP 5550. On the Pocket Hackmaster website, settings have been submitted to run the CPU at 145% - I presume 580mhz. Can you do this with stability? Is screen flicker a problem at this speed? Apparently it is recommended that this speed be used for short periods of time. I noticed that XCPUScalar recommend 472mhz (generally)and 500mhz for short periods only. It also has an autoscale feature which adjusts OC and UC. Does pockethackmaster do this also?

Fzara
08-09-2003, 09:46 PM
Thanks for replying. I have an HP 5550. On the Pocket Hackmaster website, settings have been submitted to run the CPU at 145% - I presume 580mhz. Can you do this with stability? Is screen flicker a problem at this speed? Apparently it is recommended that this speed be used for short periods of time. I noticed that XCPUScalar recommend 472mhz (generally)and 500mhz for short periods only. It also has an autoscale feature which adjusts OC and UC. Does pockethackmaster do this also?

I reccomend that you buy this program. PHM is an amazing program, which, on my Axim with the Intel PXA255 processor, i've been able to get my processor up to 590mhz.

However, before you buy the program, email [email protected] to make sure there are profiles for your HP 5550 PPC.